Urgent tech call: Here’s what the spammer is doing

(Updated.) Thanks for the feedback! I’m still on guard, but now I’m better informed.

I write this with some trepidation: The comment spammer attacking this blog just tried to post a comment, repeated nearly 50 times, that looked like this:

javascript://chicken little

I’ve rejected them all. Now, it appears the spammer is sending e-mail designed to trick me into turning over my Blogger and Google account passwords, so they can take control of this blog. I am not a tech expert, so I’m growing concerned.

This mischief is at least a reaction to my posting Gannett newspaper profit margins yesterday. It also follows some nasty business last weekend involving an investigation by the U.S. Justice Department, the F.B.I., and Google into a reader’s anonymous comment that they had “brought a gun to work but decided not to use it.”

A question: Is that computer code above — or just gibberish meant to look like code? Please post replies in the comments section, below. E-mail confidentially via gannettblog[at]gmail[dot-com]; see Tipsters Anonymous Policy in the green sidebar, upper right.

Leave a Reply

